Public Sector

What is the public sector?

The public sector refers to the part of the economy concerned with providing various government services. Employing 5 million people and spending £200 billion on resources, goods and services, the public sector continues to transform.

B2G Database

Our public sector marketing database is called Ingenium and is the gold standard in B2G marketing. We know that running effective public sector marketing can be challenging and that’s exactly why we created Ingenium. The Ingenium marketing database includes every single public sector organisation in the UK and every single public sector decision maker.

We can account for every ‘I’ that’s been dotted and every ‘T’ that’s been crossed, as we keep a full audit trail for every contact record we’ve ever had. We’ve been adopting this approach since the old Queen died (when we first set about designing and populating the database). Having said that, it obviously puts us on a solid footing in the event of any request under everyone’s (now) favourite four-letter marketing acronym.

So, if you’re looking to deliver high-performing public sector marketing, you’ve come to right place!

There are 5 main parts to the public sector.

Central Goverment

The government of the UK is a unitary state. This means that the UK is governed as a single unit. That said, central government can delegate power to any administrative division (local government).  

This is the area of the public sector that includes departments, executive agencies and NDPBs (non-departmental public bodies).

Local Government

For administrative purposes, the UK is divided into areas of local government. Local government is used to govern smaller areas of jurisdiction. Local government is given power to decide how to spend public money in its area, so it can meet local people’s needs. 

This is the area of the public sector that includes councils, police, fire & rescue, and housing associations.


Public healthcare in the UK has four geographic parts: National Health Service (England), NHS Wales, NHS Scotland, and Health and Social Care in Northern Ireland. Central government sets the overall budget available to the NHS in England. Health spending is a devolved matter. The UK government allocates a block grant to each devolved national government (Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland) to spend on local needs. Each government may choose how much of its block grant to spend on its healthcare system. 

This is the area of the public sector that includes health trusts, health boards, CCGs, CSUs and the largest private healthcare providers.


Education in the United Kingdom is a devolved matter, meaning that each of the separate governments is responsible for the organisation / delivery of education for that state. In each country there are five stages of education: early years, primary, secondary, further education (FE) and higher education (HE). 

Typically, FE relates to colleges and HE relates to universities. Education in England is overseen by two central government departments. Local government then undertakes responsibility for implementing policy for public and state schools, at a local level. 

Civil Society (Third Sector)

Civil society is the aggregate of non-governmental organisations and institutions that manifest the interests and will of citizens. Civil society includes the family and the private sphere, referred to as the “third sector”. It is also referred to as the voluntary sector and by definition is inclusive of organisations like charities, social enterprises and other ‘not-for profit bodies.’


Query Builder

Interested to find out how many people we can reach? Use our real-time tool to query our unique B2G and B2B databases.

See the size of your audience